by Chris Leone // Website // Twitter

Images via Turbo Tara Media

In their first appearance in a Rally America National Championship event in a full year, the GZB Rally Team of Grzegorz Bugaj and Elizabeth Dziubanski topped a highly talented Super Production field in last weekend's Lake Superior Performance Rally. Their time of 2:29:06.5 just barely missed out on an overall top 10 spot in the rally, landing them 11th in the final event standings.

“This was by far the craziest weather and road conditions we have personally experienced at this event,” said Bugaj. “It’s called the ‘Oldest, Toughest, Meanest Rally on the Circuit’ for a reason and after our bad luck last year we are ecstatic with our results! Thank you Rally America, LSPR organizers, workers and volunteers for another amazing event!”

LSPR was a particularly challenging event for the SP class, as a number of top teams struggled with mechanical gremlins. O.D.D. Racing's Cameron Steely and Preston Osborn, widely regarded among the class favorites coming into the event, suffered an early ECU failure and weren't even able to start the rally. Toasted Racing's Zachary Whitebread and Cameron Carr also had to pack it in on day one with engine issues, as did the Kaltak Rally Team of Samir and Rachelle Kaltak, who were racing together for the first time in multiple years.

Day two further whittled down the SP field, as the Fat Yellow Pig squad of Mark Williams and Steven Harrell retired after three offs on the first stage of the day while running in the top 10 overall. CPD Racing’s Travis Nease and Scott Putnam finally called it a weekend on Saturday as well after facing mechanical troubles of their own. Sneak Attack Rally's Nathan Usher and Marianna Langosch were able to finish the event under SuperRally rules after making a number of successful repairs during the event, and for their perseverance, were awarded with second place in class.

Super Production class finishers in this year’s Lake Superior Performance Rally were as follows:

  1. Grzegorz Bugaj/Elizabeth Dziubanski, 2:29:06.5 (11th overall)
  2. Nathan Usher/Marianna Langosch, 2:52:42.6 (28th overall)