by Chris Leone // Website // Twitter
Images via Rally America
Click here to visit Flatirons Subaru online!

Rally Colorado marks the halfway point of the 2018 Rally America National Championship, and what a halfway point it is. Beautiful Rangely, Colorado plays host to the fifth of nine events on this year’s calendar, boasting a dozen stages defined by loose surfaces, wide open spaces, and plenty of exposure.

Coming off of the second edition of the Southern Ohio Forest Rally, Open Light competitors Dave and Mike Brown hold the overall championship lead by a slim margin, with a win at Sno*Drift in January and third overall at SOFR. They’re also the defending winners here in Colorado, and part of an impressive list of drivers in the AWD car classes. Here’s a quick overview of who’s who in each:


Piotr Fetela and Dominik Jozwiak have to be considered among the favorites for the overall victory in Colorado, as their Ford Fiesta FRT Proto has won each of the past two rallies. Having taken a DNF at Sno*Drift, they’re not yet in the championship lead, but they’re only two points away from the top of the standings. But elsewhere in the class, James Koch and Abby French managed to take a stage victory here last year; while they didn’t finish the event, finding speed on the Rangely roads is a tough task.

Super Production

Maybe the deepest class in the entire Colorado field, Super Production is led by Cameron Steely and Preston Osborn, who scored finishes of third and second overall in the past two events. They’ll be joined by a group that includes Zach Whitebread/Cameron Carr (second in class/seventh overall at SOFR), Adam Short/Danny Norkus (stage winners here last year), and Eric Genack/Tracy Manspeaker (eighth overall here last year). And don’t forget former Rally America National Champion Scott Crouch, who returns to Colorado with Flatirons Subaru.

Open Light

Scored as part of the Super Production class last year, Open Light has since been converted into a National Championship class of its own for 2018. With two of last year’s three podium finishers entered in the rally in this class, it’s a well-deserved move up. The brothers Brown won their first Rally America event overall in only their second try here last year, while Steve Bis and Scott McCarty took two stage victories on the way to third place overall in the 2017 event.