by Chris Leone // Website // Twitter
Images via Jason Swoboda

“The Oldest, Meanest, Toughest Rally on the Circuit” returns to the Rally America National Championship with one of the deepest entry lists the series has seen in 2018. With more than a month between the event itself and today, this year’s Lake Superior Performance Rally already features more than two dozen of the sport’s top competitors on its entry list, with many more expected to sign up.

A number of the top 10 crews in the current National Championship standings, as well as many crews that are also entered in Show-Me Rally for earlier in the month, have signed on. The entry list is headed by overall Rally America points leaders Dave and Mike Brown, who will be joined by fellow top 10 crews Jimmy Pelizzari/Kate Stevens and Arek Bialobrzeski/Aris Mantopoulos in Open Light. They’ll be joined by a similarly talented Super Production group that features regular Rally America front-runners Nathan Usher/Marianna Langosch, Zach Whitebread/Cameron Carr, and Mark Williams/Steven Harrell.

All of the current Open entries signed up for this year’s event also competed in 2017. Ivo Draganov/Vladimir Yanev were the highest overall finishers of the group, and will step up from the NLO class; they’ll be joined by Eric/Camille Carlson and Bradley Hayosh/Nick Nouhan.

The two-wheel drive field includes Mike Hurst’s familiar Ford Capri, which he’ll share with co-driver Susi Little in Group 2. Five crews have registered for that class so far, while Al Dantes Jr./Brandon Snyder and John Concha/Santiago Alban are the first two Group 5 entries. Meanwhile, this year’s B-spec battle will continue with Chris Sladek/John Sharps’ Honda Fit taking on Tracey Gardiner/Kubo Kordisch’s Toyota Prius.

This year’s Lake Superior Performance Rally will take place on October 19-20, 2018. For more information on the event, click here. To volunteer for the event, click here.