by Chris Leone // Website // Twitter
Images via Racer Dave (1); Tara Hurlin (2)

This year’s Sno*Drift Summer Rally saw more than two dozen competitors visit the roads of Atlanta and Lewiston, Michigan for the second time this Rally America National Championship season. A majority of the field managed to finish Saturday’s event as well, with 22 of the 28 crews to start the event finding ways to make it to the end of Soden-Blue Lake II, the final of eight stages.

Four classes saw multiple entries at this year’s SDSR, while Jeffrey Reamer/Zachary Jacques were the lone Super Production entry, adding a fifth class to this year’s scoring. Today, we take a quick look at the top racers in each class:


Overall winners Piotr Fetela/Dominik Jozwiak of Fetela Rally Team won the first four stages of the event to lead by nearly a minute coming into service, and maintained their lead until the finish of the rally. 2017 runners-up Henry/Cindy Krolikowski were the second-best Open competitors at fourth overall, while Brian Ballinger/Cameron Carr completed the overall top 10 as the third-best Open entry.

Open Light

The rivalry between Dave/Mike Brown and Nathan Usher/Marianna Langosch continued at SDSR as the sport’s top two Open Light teams finished second and third overall, and first and second in class. The two crews were separated by only 53.9 seconds, while third in class Jimmy Pelizzari/Kate Stevens made it three Open Light entries in the top five spots overall.

Group 2

At sixth overall, Mike/Katherine Hurst were the top two-wheel drive crew in the event, more than a minute ahead of Michael Ryba/Burke Davis. The Hursts were also the winners of this year’s Daddy-Daughter Challenge, completing the event five minutes faster than runners-up Eric/Camille Carlson. Santiago Iglesias/Robert Kassel completed the Group 2 class podium at ninth overall.


The top two B-spec competitors both came out to play at SDSR, with Doug Gekiere/Matthew Hoffman looking to reclaim the class lead from Honda’s Chris Sladek. But despite Gekiere/Hoffman leading into service, Sladek/John Sharps would claim the class lead in the second half of the event and take the B-spec win at 11th overall, just over two minutes ahead of the other B-spec entry.